Homemade Garlic Bread

I love garlic in general, an ingredient which has the ability to make all foods taste good.  I love how garlic is “hot and spicy” when it is raw, which is the reason why it strengthens your immune system.  Then i love the sweet taste when garlic is cooked.

I has been a long time since I have had garlic bread.  My mom does not buy garlic bread because she cannot justify a small loaf for at least $5-$6.  Therefore, she switched to buying garlic spread, until she found out it is made of margarine instead of butter, which has no health value to it.  In the end, she stopped buying completely.

Here I am making my own garlic bread or toast late at night, 10 pm, to prepare for breakfast the next day.

Ingredients

wpid-20140915_222305.jpgLoaf(s) of Bread, split

4 – 5 cloves of garlic, minced

3 teaspoons of parsley

4 tablespoons butter

2 tablespoons olive oil

**3 tablespoons of cheese

— I used Mozzarella.  You can use Parmigiano, A blend of Cheddar and Swiss, however you like.  Cheese is optional.

Directions

1) Combine garlic, butter, oil and parsley in a microwave safe dish over a pot with medium heat boiled water.  Mix well, until better is melted.
wpid-20140915_223540.jpg

2) Brush bread generously with garlic-butter mixture.  Toast bread under broiler for 4 minutes.

wpid-20140915_224436.jpg

4) Remove bread when it is toasted golden brown in color.   Sprinkle with cheese, if using.

wpid-20140915_225729.jpg

4) If you added cheese, return to broiler and brown 30 seconds. Cut into chunks and serve.

wpid-20140915_230054.jpg

Leave a comment